My Person.

Last night I spent my evening celebrating this girl.

73311893_2414910608618980_6393785365353725952_n

Not many people can say that they have found their soul mate in a best friend. Their confidant, and go-to for anything that life throws at them.  But me, I can finally (whoop whoop) say that I have.

I grew up always hoping that I would have that set of friends that I could sit with 20 years later and remember our childhood.  Knowing that we’ve gone through all of life’s “big moments” by each others side.  Unfortunately, I never had that.  Maybe it’s my Gemini spirit showing through, moving quickly from one passion to the next.  Maybe its just the fact that those friends I had, weren’t the right group of friends.

This girl right here though, she’s stuck with me whether she likes it or not.  No, we don’t do all those sappy girl things. You won’t find us having slumber parties and chatting about which boy we think is cute. I mean, really, it’s too late in life for all of that.   It’s been just about 8 years since first meeting, so we never got to experience all those “fun” early life moments with each other.

We have however bonded over major life events.  Weddings, career changes, divorces, small town rumors, another major career move and now, babies! We’ve spent many hours speaking real truth about real situations.  Texts, phone calls, cries and laughs over the deepest and most grueling situations one person could face prove without words the bond built so quickly will last.  We many never say it to each other, but without a doubt in my mind, Sara is my person.

Last night I watched her fulfill a dream she has most likely had since birth.  She has been a certified officer for over 2 years, but to finally be put in a position to be out on the street doing what she was born to do is a major accomplishment.  It is through many years of determination, sweat and tears that she fought her way to not only get the title, but the ability to follow the career path with that title that she desperately wanted to be on.  Three academy journeys, 2 agencies, a masters degree, an uproot from her home proceeded by purchasing a home, all while being employed in one of the most stressful careers possible.

Within the last 3 years she going through a strenuous divorce, a small community raising the rumors that only small towns are capable of, breaking her spirit and soul.  When she decided change was necessary for her personal heath she proceeded through the entire hiring process (which takes months) and was so close to the final stages only to find out she was expecting, potentially putting everything just out of reach.

I won’t dare get emotional when face to face, but man I’m so stinking proud of this girl.  She didn’t let anything break her.  She stood up when life and supposed friends did nothing but dragged her down to her darkest times.  She focused on her abilities, her determination shining through when shit literally stole her soul.

And although she may not have fit into her uniform like the rest of her class, she looked damn strong (and hot) up there getting exactly what she deserved.

It is my honor to say that I have finally found my person, and man.. she is a great one.

Leave a comment